Two Weeks Worth

Can’t believe August is half over. Feels like the drift boat trip was just yesterday. I’ve gotten after it several times since then, here goes…

DSCF1867

Duncan and I got out on the water the night of the Paul McCartney concert. I think our time was better spent. Six pack of Bud Diesel, couple gas station corndogs and a tube of pringles. I got into a nice fish right away. Dunc was cursed. I’ve never seen a fish strike a fly so many times and never managed to take.

DSCF1869 DSCF1874

Only two fish for me, none for Duncan. Even a rough night on a blue ribbon trout stream is a pretty good way to spend your time.

My wife, Shannon, has been studying for the BAR exam all Summer. It was so nice to get out on the water with her once it was finally over. She opted to just hike along and enjoy the cool water rather than fish on this trip.

DSCF1878

Can’t get enough of the gorgeous little cutthroats in this creek. Watching them rocket up to dry flys in the gin-clear water keeps me coming back for more.

DSCF1880

Tenkara was built for this.

DSCF1882

As I said, awesome to finally feel like I’ve got my Wife back after she worked her ass off all Summer. It was a hot one so, dipping the feet in the water felt amazing.

DSCF1883

Pleasant surprise of the trip, the fish seem to be healthier this year than any other I’ve fished this section of water. I pulled out tons of little/mid size guys and more than a few in this size range (about 10-12″). Fall fishing is going to be killer if the streams keep up the way they’ve been all summer.

DSCF1885

Bugs used to bother me. Now I love ’em and I tend to take butterflys as good omens.

I texted Matt something along the lines of “How do you feel about getting up stupid early and heading south to fish on Sunday?” Fast forward a day or two and he’s outside my house at 6am. After a quick stop at Florence Coffee Co we’re off. The Super Moon was setting over Blue Mountain and it was blood red. Pretty awesome view to start the morning. Didn’t bother trying to take a picture.

DSCF1888

Flys hit the water shortly after seven and fish were in hand not long after. Things started off a bit slow and picked up as the temps warmed through the morning.

DSCF1889 DSCF1890

Excellent way to start a Sunday, and this was all before I had to be at work at 11.

DSCF1892 DSCF1893 DSCF1896

Every time I think “I need to branch out and try other creeks.” I have a stellar day on this one that just makes me want to return again and again.

DSCF1897 DSCF1898 DSCF1903

We mostly stayed in the water and worked our way upstream. We only popped up to the trail once or twice.

DSCF1904

Caught more of these than I would bother to count. I suggested Duncan head here the following day and his assessment was something along the lines of “You just catch fish until you’re tired of it then hike out.” He even saw some skinny dippers on his trip, not something I’ve run into up there just yet.

DSCF1905

Off the water, another stop at a Florence Coffee Co and I was at work before 11. Pretty great way to wake up.

I think I’m going to end this post here. I’ve got three more little outings but I’ll save them for later.

Happy angling all.

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Weeks Worth

  1. SwittersB says:

    nice inviting pics…solitude too it appears….still have Sept/Oct!!!

    • Danny says:

      Sept/Oct AND Nov for creeks my neck of the woods! Solitude indeed. Thanks for checking it out, always enjoy your posts, I’m just terrible about commenting! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

