Happy to be back on a creek

Some of the rivers are still flowing big, as are many of the creeks. But, if you find the right conditions some are fishing great. Chad took me to this creek last year and it fits the bill for early season fishing. South facing valley, lower elevation for the mountains, and a small creek in general. He got out there on Sunday and had excellent luck. I’ll be going again Thursday but, I couldn’t wait.

DSCF1668I parked a little lower down than Chad did, I’ll probably give his location a try later in the week. This drainage makes you work for your time on the water. Bush whacking down a steep slope has its rewards though. I started with a parachute adams, had a few fish on that spit the hook within minutes of hitting the water.

DSCF1669 DSCF1670 DSCF1671

After moving upstream a bit, I got into my first creek fish of the year. Nice little cutthroat. I love the simplicity of kebari, they are easy to tie and beautiful to look at but, nothing compares to watching a fish of any size rise up to strike a dry-fly. Switched over to an elk hair caddis for fun and moved up-stream a bit more.

DSCF1672 DSCF1673 DSCF1674

The water levels are awesome right now but, things are still pushing pretty hard and fast. Drifts were a challenge but I kept getting into nice little fish. After taking some on the elk hair, I switched over to a royal wulff. Not even a look on that one so I quickly changed to a Utah killer bug. Not a sniff of that either. I just haven’t found the time when that fly is the best choice in my area, I’ll keep giving it a go from time to time.

DSCF1675 DSCF1676

I used my Daiwa Soyokaze today. It’s got a surprising amount of back bone. It’s been a long time since I fished it and I quickly remembered what I love about it. After having no luck with the UKB, and with time running down, I tied on a purple patriot and hit the last little bits of water.

DSCF1677 DSCF1678

Ended the day with this nice little brown trout. Packed up the Soyokaze and made my way up to the road, and I do mean up.

DSCF1679

Twenty minutes of bushwhacking and climbing up out of this mess got me to the road. This photo really doesn’t do justice to how steep the slope is getting out of the creek.

DSCF1680

Lakes and ponds look pretty but, something about a dirt road and sun on the mountain side just does it for me.

DSCF1681

And then back into the Missoula valley, through a bug streak windshield.

I’ll be back on the same creek on Thursday with Thurston, seeing what kind of trouble we can get into. Couldn’t be happier that the creeks are coming down to fishable levels. The only bad thing is that the rest of the summer is going to fly by now.

Happy angling all.

 

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

