Georgetown Lake

Fished Georgetown Lake on Friday with my friend Paul. I haven’t driven up that direction in over ten years. While results at the lake were less than stellar, it’s a beautiful drive. Aside from Flint Creek, there were some other good looking streams along the way. I’m a fan of the beer from Phillipsburg’s crafter brewery, Discovery is opening mountain bike trails this year, and there is a candy shop and bbq place in Phillipsburg. I think I’ll be back up that way again sooner rather than later…

DSCF1662

Paul, rowing along the shore line. It’s a beautiful little lake. Fish were active, I just couldn’t get any to get on the end of my line. I’m still kinda “meh” about lake/pond fishing. My pontoon needs a few little things to be easier to manage in general (rod holder, better line management for an anchor, a working oar lock instead of bailing wire) and maybe getting those things done will make it easier to enjoy fishing. But, primarily I just sit, drink a beer and enjoy being outside. Fishing is really far down on the list of what I actually do on these trips.

DSCF1663

I hate sunscreen almost as much as I hate getting sunburned. Also, I’m just too cheap to buy a good PFD so this super old water skiing one will do the trick. At least until I pony up for the SIMMS one.

DSCF1664

The HD branding I could do without but, the saying felt very appropriate today. “There is a reason they call it fishing, not catching.”

DSCF1665 DSCF1667
That scenery. I had one fish on the line, drank two beers, and broke my Amago, again. It wasn’t the most productive day but, it’s hard to complain about spending a Friday afternoon in a setting like this, fishing with a buddy.

Tomorrow, I’m hitting a small creek for an hour or two after work. Thursday, I’m heading out earlier in the afternoon to get a proper amount of time on the same creek. It’ll be the first outing for the Soyokaze this year. Can’t wait. Until then…

Happy angling.

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

