Happy New Year

Three New Years Days in a row with no hangover. This is officially a trend. Once again I was up early and didn’t need a bloody mary. Chad showed up about 8:30 and we piled into the 4Runner and headed up Rock Creek. If you remember last years post, https://simpleangler.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/happy-new-year/, this would be the point where things went a bit wonky. Thankfully, no vehicle issues this year.

DSCF1420

We skipped the first parking spot as we were worried the 4Runner might not be able to make it out, stopped here and rigged up. We were once again blessed with blue skies and this year it was warm. I told Chad I had a good feeling and we started fishing right away.

DSCF1424

DSCF1425

DSCF1427

Chad started dragging a double setup through this deep channel and I moved upstream just a bit. Just a few casts in I had what looked like a good-sized whitefish take my Montana Prince nymph. I wasn’t expecting it however, poor set and the surprise of seeing a fish on the line resulted in it releasing itself rather quickly.

DSCF1428

DSCF1431

We moved a bit further upstream and the Sun peeked over the mountains. If that one bite was all the action we had for the day I’d have been perfectly satisfied.

DSCF1432

I was on the opposite bank from Chad when I looked up and saw his rod bent over and him fighting a fish. He reeled in a good-sized whitefish, very possibly the first fish caught by anyone on Rock Creek in 2014.

DSCF1436

DSCF1438

DSCF1441

We got to this hole, right near an excellent place to get back on the road and head to the truck. I had this big grin on my face because I’d just pulled in a beautiful trout.

1523982_10100179028637206_1369742898_o

Last year, I didn’t catch my first fish until February ( https://simpleangler.wordpress.com/2013/02/17/beers-buds-and-bass/ ) and I didn’t catch my first trout until March ( https://simpleangler.wordpress.com/2013/03/17/sun-snow-and-a-rainbow-trout/ ). I’m hoping this is a sign of good things to come in 2014.

There’s no better way to end a fishing trip than having your last cast bring a fish in so, I collapsed the Amago and we made our way back to the 4Runner.

DSCF1443

I can’t think of a much better way than to spend the first morning of a New Year than enjoying the outdoors with a good friend. I hope you all had a wonderful New Years Eve and a fun-filled New Years Day. See you on the water in 2014.

Happy angling!

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. jqcarnes says:

    Awesome! Glad you guys got out. At first glance, I thought the photo of Chad with the fish was of him throwing his rod into the water. It took me a while to figure out it was behind him.

  2. Great work! That is the kind of info that should be shared around the internet.

    Shame on the search engines for not positioning this put up upper!
    Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

