An evening on Kootenai

Wow, I’m behind on this one. And, shock of shocks, I went to Kootenai Creek, again. This time around Matt and I headed down on Monday after he got off work. It was blazing hot, the creek felt great and we got some fish to cooperate.

DSCF0730

DSCF0732

I started off in this hole, had some luck. No lunkers. I think the heat of the day had the big fish down. But there were plenty of greedy little fellas.

Matt started down stream from me a ways. Looked to have pretty decent luck as well…

DSCF0731

DSCF0733

DSCF0736

DSCF0737

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I just love catching these little trout. Beautiful fish, and fighters. The Soyokaze has been too much fun lately.

DSCF0740

Matt gave the Soyokaze a try. I think he dug it.

DSCF0742

While he was fishing the Soyo, I gave his Iwana a try. Tenkara USA makes fantastic rods. The Iwana is far more suited to small fish than my Amago. Matt had a ton of line on and I was able to get some nice casts with it. Great, great rod.

DSCF0743

It was, as always, a fantastic day on the water. Matt and I hadn’t hung out in a while either so it was good to do some catching up.

DSCF0744

DSCF0745

DSCF0746

DSCF0747

After about three hours of fishing we packed it in and headed for home. No better way to spend a Monday evening.

DSCF0748

Happy angling all, and thanks for a fun trip Matt.

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

