Small water, small fish

Taking Shannon fishing on Sunday was a fantastic time. I only managed to catch one fish though, and it was by accident. So of course, I headed out again on Monday while Shannon was at work. I figured I’d get an early start and at first the weather looked like it wouldn’t cooperate. I fished Rattlesnake Creek in an area my friend calls “Hobo Alley”. There are a few nice holes but, it’s still moving too quick to be productive. And I stopped counting the number of empty Colt 45 cans and trash I saw. Hugely disappointing. It started to rain on me so I threw on my coat, collapsed the Soyokaze and walked up to a different stretch of water, hoping the sun would win out. Upon arrival, I cast to a spot I know is holding a fish, had a strike, which I missed, and then a crack of thunder rolled overhead. Collapsed the rod again and moved away from the water. Rather than pack it in though I decided to wait it out. Glad I did…

DSCF0626

I decided to explore a small side channel. I figured there would be some fish in there and they’d be small. I stopped counting after about five trout pulled out. Some very greedy little buggers, the size 14 parachute adams was a meal fit for a tiny king.

DSCF0627

I worked my way up the length of the channel, intermittent rain but no lighting. It was fantastic. People in the area treat this creek like their own playground, creating pools and damming sections just because they can. It’s a bit sad that they don’t think of how it affects the water but, now that I’ve seen how many fish are just fine in there I’m not so worried about it.

DSCF0628

DSCF0629

I’d come to a fall like the above picture, cast below it and pull out a few fish. Then, staying below the fall I’d cast into the upper pool, pulling out even more. It was fantastic fun, fish ranging from tiny three inchers up to a whopping six inches on occasion. Very soft hook sets were required, too hard risked either missing the set all together or flinging the poor little trout behind me downstream (I’m happy to say no fish were harmed permanently on this trip).

DSCF0631

The side channel was created years back during some flooding. I have a feeling a deer managed to get caught up during high water and produced what’s left in the above picture. Even being in a very urban area, this stretch of water sees a lot of wildlife. I know of folks who’ve seen black bear, I’ve come across snakes and birds off all kinds, muskrat and on this trip I disturbed a buck sleeping about 5 feet away from me.

DSCF0632

This was about as big a fish as I’d find in the side channel. The Soyokaze made them all a fun fight. It has plenty of backbone to bring them in quickly but it’s soft enough to play them a bit if you approach with a more gentle touch.

DSCF0634

One of the many birds I had observing my activities for the day.

DSCF0635

DSCF0637

DSCF0638

Just gorgeous water. I hope I never become obsessed with chasing big fish. Don’t get me wrong, the fight with bigger trout on bigger water is a blast, but I just love these small streams.

I did eventually move over in to the main channel. My luck did not diminish. I switched over to a size 12 yellow humpy and started bringing in fish in the 8-12″ range. The 12″ brown trout I pulled out of this stretch…

DSCF0640

Was a fun fish on the Soyokaze. It also made me realize I’d like a landing net. Easier on the fish than me putting my grubby paws all over them and easier for me to get pictures. The brown flopped back into the water before I could get a picture.

DSCF0639

I had a bit more action after the brown, and then realized I could spend literally all day fishing this water. I practically had. Five hours after I’d started I figured I’d pack it in. I walked back downtown and met my wife at the bus depot for a quick trip home.

Fantastic day on the water. I will be returning to the side channel for sure. And, there is still plenty more of the main channel to explore. Gotta love living in a place where I can ride the bus to a fantastic stretch of water.

Happy angling all!

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Small water, small fish

  1. There’s a lot to be said for small water and small fish. Very enjoyable fishing. I think the key is matching the rod to the fish, as you did with the Soyokaze.

  2. connor says:

    “You really know your stuff… Keep up the good work!”

Leave a Reply

