Then and Now

Sadly, I didn’t get out on the water this weekend so I’ve got no fishing trip to report on. It was the first time in over two months that I haven’t been out for at least a little bit. This is a big change from years past. I was not what you would call an outdoorsy child. Not that the opportunity wasn’t there, I just wasn’t in to camping, fishing, hunting, etc for whatever reason.

Fishing with Dad

It did happen on occasion as you can see in this pic. Me, Dad and my cousins dog Bart at Lake McDonald in April of 1984. I’d imagine I didn’t catch much.

It took 20+ years for me to discover a love of fishing and the outdoors in general. It was worth the wait. Hopefully next season I’ll be able to get Dad out a few times. Tenkara is a bit different than spin casting but I think he’d really enjoy it. I know I do.

Instead of fishing yesterday I was a course marshall for the Jingle Bell Run to benefit the Arthritis Foundation. Dang cold out but a lot of fun. For whatever reason, they asked me to dress up as a gorilla. Odd…

20121112-110839.jpg

Much as I love fishing it’s probably a good thing to take a break now and then. Or maybe I’m just trying to convince myself of that… either way…

Happy Angling!

This entry was posted in Photos, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

