Challenging day on the water

After some research on the FWP website, it turns out the regular season runs until November 30th in Montana. Good news, I thought last weekend was my last chance to get out on some creeks. Thurston and I headed down to Kootenai Creek on Saturday for some trout fishing. It was an absolutely gorgeous day. Mid 50’s, overcast and no breeze to speak of.

20121104-204912.jpg

20121104-205419.jpg
The water flows were moving solidly. This is apparently a very different creek than the one it is in late summer. It’s a half mile hike before you hit public lands. I quickly decided waders are NOT fun for hiking. I can’t wait to get back to wet wading…

20121104-205157.jpg
I’ve mentioned before that I’m lazy when it comes to angling. I had the same ant with an indicator tied on with a nymph dragging after that i uaed to catch a whitefish on another creek last week. I had no clue what the trout would be interested in so I figured I’d give it a try. I’m glad I did. Five minutes in the first hole and I had a nice little 7-8″ cutt take the ant.
Thurst and I moved up stream a bit quicker than normal. Thurst pulled an 8″ cutt out a few holes later.

20121104-205837.jpg

20121104-205853.jpg

20121104-205904.jpg

20121104-210027.jpg

20121104-210038.jpg
Up stream a bit further I managed to snag a 5″ and another 7-8″ cutt after having switched to a madam x. We decided to call it a day. Both of us were having a hard time seeing the fly on the water and it was starting to drizzle a bit. All in all it was a fantastic day. The water flows may be a sign that creek fishing is done for the year. No big deal, the whitefish season starts on Rock Creek December first!

Happy angling!

One more pic courtesy of Thurston. I tend to not be seen in photos so it was awesome when he showed me this one after we got back to the trailhead!

20121104-210406.jpg
Oh, and just to make any beer fans jealous, we had some Allies Win the War at the trailhead to celebrate the day. Later that night we went to a beer tasting, an amazing spread!

20121104-210756.jpg

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

