Solo trip report

The memory card in my cheap camera is apparently corrupt. Bummer, as I had a few nice shots from my quick trip to Rattlesnake Creek yesterday afternoon. I started where it empties in to the Clark Fork. I had a madam x tied on from my last trip and since I’m lazy that’s what I cast. On my third or fourth cast I had a good sized fish take a bite but it quickly threw the hook. My experience on the Rattlesnake is that after one good look they aren’t coming back for more. I spent another five minutes or so casting to the same area with no luck.

It was my first time out with waders and while I still prefer to wet wade I see why some people like using them year round. I made my way up the creek, switching to an Oki Kebari to try and hit a few deeper holes. Right next to a bridge is the spot that I went out with the intention of getting a fly in. A cutbank under a tree with a few small “falls” directing a lot of food to any fish living there. I switched to a #16 royal wulff and dropped it right in the middle of the hole. I saw the fish rise but it didn’t take the fly. One more cast to the same spot and a nice 7-8″ fish came to hand.

More than happy with that I called it quits. On my way out I pulled a beer bottle, vodka bottle, soda bottle, plastic grocery bag and a bunch of ziplock bags out. It’s really a bummer to see so much trash in such a short section of water.

I’ll be heading down to that section again and hopefully the camera, and the trout, will cooperate.

Happy angling.

This entry was posted in Fishing Trip and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

